Home » Articles-en » AWCON :Super Falcons Of Nigeria Crown Champions For A Record Nine Times

AWCON :Super Falcons Of Nigeria Crown Champions For A Record Nine Times

Super Falcons of Nigeria are champions of Africa for the 9th after Beating the Banyana of South Africa 4-3 on penalties after full time Draw and 30minutes of extra time.

Tochukwu Oluehi who was heroic by saving crucial shots from the South Africa players to put Nigeria in game as Nigeria emerged champions of the 2018 Africa Women’s Cup of Nations (AWCON) with a 4-3 penalty shootouts win over South Africa at the Accra Sports Stadium on Saturday night.

The Nigeria Super Falcons came back to dominate the game after South Africa dominated the first 15 Minutes of the opening game.

Woman of the match, Francisca Ordega who was impressive all through the game after being substituted in second extra time was strong forward for the Falcons side after creating so many chances to put Nigeria ahead.


Nigeria continue their dominance in searching for goal when Francisca Ordega was brought down in the South Africa penalty box in the 73minutes and Asisat Oshoala missed it by playing it wide to keep the game balance and took the game to extra time.

The game went into the penalty shootout after Both teams failed find the back of the net after 30 Minutes of extra time, with Nigeria missing the first spot kick through Ebi while South Africa Scored thier first spot kick before missing the second and last spot kick to Crown Nigeria champions of 2018.

Nigeria have now won the competition a record nine times out of eleven times after failing to reach 2008 and 2012 finals which Equatorial Guinea won.

We cover football at all levels and all over the world, from simple amateur tournaments, school/university championships, youth, women football to elite/professional football.
ZoneFoot is now SpoortsThe Social Network for Sports