fbpx
ZoneFoot
Home » Articles-en » Beach AFCON 2018: Nigeria Lost To Senegal on Penalties

Beach AFCON 2018: Nigeria Lost To Senegal on Penalties

 

Supersand Eagles beaten on penalties by Senegal

It was another close encounter that eventually went away as four –time champions Senegal defeated Nigeria 2-0 on penalties following a 4-4 stalemate after regulation and extra time at the CAF Beach Soccer Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt on Saturday.

Two –time champions Nigeria took the fight to their regular nemesis but the Senegalese were up to the task and refused to bow to the firepower of the Supersand Eagles.

Emeka Ogbonna, who was voted Most Valuable Player of the CAF Beach Soccer AFCON that Nigeria hosted in Lagos in December 2016, was among the goals for the Supersand Eagles, while Fayowole Egan-Osi added one and Taiwo Adams weighed in with a brace.

The Supersand Eagles will clash with their counterparts from Libya on Sunday, starting from 1.15pm Egypt time (12.15pm Nigeria time). Their last group match is against Tanzania on Monday, starting from 2.30pm Egypt time (1.30pm Nigeria time).

We cover football at all levels and all over the world, from simple amateur tournaments, school/university championships, youth, women football to elite/professional football.