Home » Articles-en » Courtney Dike Dropped As Dennerby Release List Of 27 Players For FIFA Women World Cup Camping

Courtney Dike Dropped As Dennerby Release List Of 27 Players For FIFA Women World Cup Camping

Head Coach Of Nigeria Women Football National Team, Thomas Dennerby has invited 27 players to camp ahead of the 2019 FIFA Women Cup that will take place in France From June 7th to July 7th.

Goalkeeper Tochukwu Oluehi, Desire Oparanozie, Halimatu Ayinde and Asisat Oshoala lead the pack of 27 players for the two weeks camping.

While Courtney Dike who was among the Super Falcons squad that play the Canada team in a friendly match in Spain was dropped.

Dennerby has also picked Uchenna Kanu, who is currently leading highest goals scorer chat in the ongoing WAFU B Women cup in Abidjan with 8 goals from two games and Evelyn Nwabouku, Alice Ogebe and Amarachi Okonkwo who are also part of the team in the WAFU B Women cup.

Nigeria’s final list of 23 players for the 8th FIFA Women’s World Cup finals will emerge from this group of 27, with four players to be cut towards the end of the two-week camping in Austria.

NFF’s Head of Women Football, Ruth David told on Monday that the African champions will depart from Abuja for Austria on Monday, 20th May for the Avita Resort in Bad Tatzmannsdorf – the same facility where the Super Eagles had their final camping programme just before the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

The Super Falcons will depart from Austria on 4th June direct to Reims, where they open their World Cup campaign against Norway on 8th June.

Super Falcons

Full List Of Invited Players For Camp

Goalkeepers: Tochukwu Oluehi (Rivers Angels); Alaba Jonathan (Bayelsa Queens); Chiamaka Nnadozie (Rivers Angels); Christy Ohiaeriaku (Confluence Queens)

Defenders: Osinachi Ohale (Vaxjo DFF, Sweden); Ngozi Ebere (Arna Bjornar, Norway); Onome Ebi (Henan Huisanhang, China); Josephine Chukwunonye (Kungsbacka DFF, Sweden); Faith Michael (Pitea IF, Sweden); Chidinma Okeke (FC Robo)

Midfielders: Cecilia Nku (Ferencvaros Torna, Hungary); Rita Chikwelu (Krstianstand DFF, Sweden); Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene (Eskiltuna United, Sweden); Evelyn Nwabuoku (Rivers Angels); Ogonna Chukwudi (Djurgardens IF, Sweden); Halimatu Ayinde (Eskiltuna United, Sweden); Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons)

Forwards: Desire Oparanozie (En Avant Guingamp, France); Anam Imo (Malmo FC Rosengard, Sweden); Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona, Spain); Chinaza Uchendu (SC Braga, Portugal); Uchenna Kanu (Southeastern University, USA); Rasheedat Ajibade (Alvadsnes IL, Norway); Francisca Ordega (Shanghai W. FC); Ini-Abasi Umotong (Brighton Hove & Albion, England); Alice Ogebe (Rivers Angels)

Related articles

We cover football at all levels and all over the world, from simple amateur tournaments, school/university championships, youth, women football to elite/professional football.